Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.



School governors are people who wish to make a positive contribution to children’s education. No special qualifications are required, but enthusiasm, commitment and an interest in education are important qualities to bring to a governor post.


What is the role of the governing body?

Governing bodies are responsible and accountable for all major decisions about the school and its future.  Governors have a legal responsibility to conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement.  They set the school's vision and strategic aims, monitor and evaluate performance acting as a critical friend to the headteacher and ensure the school is accountable to those it serves.

 Governing bodies are made up of key stakeholders:

  • Parents - parent governors are elected by other parents at the school
  • Staff - (including the head teacher) - teaching and other staff are elected by the school staff
  • The community - the governing body appoints community governors i.e. members of the community
  • The LA - the Local Authority appoints one or more local education authority governors

 The Governing Body at Dalton School comprises of a fully committed team:


Click on each name to find out more about our Governors


Mr. Ian Richardson - Headteacher

Mr Jason Bates - Chair of Governors - Coopted Governor

Mr. David Shaw -  Vice Chair. - Co-opted governor

Mrs. Emma Walsh - Acting Deputy Headteacher  - Associate Governor

Mrs. Susan Mallinson - School Business Manager -  Associate Governor

Mrs. Eileen Torr - LA governor

Mrs. Helen Hudson - Co-opted governor

Mrs Jane Bates - Co-opted Governor

Mrs Deborah Whitfield - QTVI  - Staff Governor

Mrs Karen Gratino - Co-opted Governor

Mrs Pauline Ainley - Designate Governor

Mr Kevin Riley - Designate Governor

 Useful websites for Governors:


DfE -


National Governors Association -


National College -